Apologies for being so quiet

trc-female-0064-mute-button-whiteSince my last post I have continued on this journey that is my life in Jesus. Those blogs were really about me trying to articulate my detangling from religion and sharing some of the struggles and breakthroughs I had in that journey.

Hopefully these new blogs will allow me to unpack what has happened since then and be more up-to-date in sharing insights I am processing currently. Obviously the whole point for me is to be more loving as a person, but the love I talk about is what Greg Boyd calls a “cross shaped love”.

When I stopped writing I was at a place where I felt like I had disentangled myself from religion, or more accurately that I had engaged a process whereby God did the disentangling. What I have since realised is this religion thing goes way deeper that I ever realised and that while I thought that this was a destination along the journey, I have found it to be part of the journey and part of what it means to be in Christ.

Lastly I would like to ask that you engage me in dialogue around these issues, I need the discussion so that I don’t feel like I have arrived, or that I have the answers.

Categories: Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Apologies for being so quiet

  1. The Lord gave me an understanding some years ago, while I was part of an independent, pentecostal church, of John 3 where Jesus speaks of what Wayne Jacobsen calls, “the wind blown life.” For me, it comprises a “natural, supernatural” approach where I try hard to rest in Him(our work is to rest in His!) and trust that He is leading and guiding me in His ways, to His glory. Do I know what I am doing or do I see or understand the results? Sometimes, maybe!! I try not to worry too much about it. One time when I was out walking on my lunch break, I was asking God the age old, “What am I doing and am I doing what I am supposed to be doing?” As I entered the parking lot where I work, a car pulled up and the guy opened his window and said to me how thankful he was for me and my prayers for him. Sometimes God is that gracious to me, but I think at this point, He would rather that I just stay attentive to Him in a moment by moment basis and trust in His gentle leading. Oswald-Chambers seemed to have much to say along these lines. Somewhere in “My Utmost…”, he said something to the effect that we become the will of God.

    Hope and pray this helps as I think I share a similar journey to yours, except that part about the Catholic church; my parents attended UMC, mostly, and Friends Meetings, rarely.

    Like

    1. I love that Chris, one of my favourite passages is Hebrews 4 where it says “make every effort to enter my rest”. Thanks for your comment, hopefully it will be the first of many. I havr also been greatly helped by Wayne’s material which was responsible for hrlping find language for what Jesus was doing in my heart. Blessings

      Like

Leave a Reply

