Wrestling with God

“For: The Institue of Contemporary and Emerging Worship Studies, St. Stephens University, Essentials Blue Online Worship Theology Course with Dan Wilt.”

When I was growing up I used to struggle with knowing God. I would try to picture in my mind what Jesus looked like and then immediately I would reject that image as I knew that the Bible says “nobody has seen His face”. So I was stuck in a vicious cycle.

The Bible also says that Moses was a friend of God, and that he spoke to Moses “face to face” (Exodus 33:11). That’s kind of intimidating isn’t, but this week I read Psalm 103 where it says that “God revealed his character to Moses”, and that was the break through for me. As I grew to know and studied his character in the Bible it gave me a handle grapple with this God who is invisible, so great and totally other than me.

This week as we have been focusing on God’s character as Creator, Saviour, King and Trinity I have had a week of wrestling with God, just as my 2 year old son and I wrestle on the floor and reconnect after a long day of work and play school. There is the ebb and flow as he pushes me and I fall, as I pull him and hold him close and as we laugh together.

The beauty of it all is we are wrestling with a God who wants to be known. He makes powerful statements through creation, interacts with us in a diversity of ways through the Trinity, declares he is totally other than us and above and beyond anything in the universe as King and then he leaves heaven behind and moves into our neighborhood as Jesus Christ.

One thought on “Wrestling with God

  1. Wrestling with God is seen many times as a challenge, opposing God, pushing my will onto God Wrestling with God must be something like that encounter Jacob had with God. It is to get to know God more intimately and to ask for His blessing onto our lives

    Like

Leave a Reply

